Countdown of the most successful singles, #10-12

Which singles were the most successul? Our countdown starts from 12 to 10. 

As Billboard announced that its official hot 100 charts will take youtube and spotify plays into account, May is about the countdowns of The Script’s most popular songs according to these media. I’ll share the top youtube videos on Mondays, charted singles on Thursdays and most popular Spotify tracks on Saturdays. Make sure you click play and stay tuned!

12: You Won’t Feel A Thing

Written by: Andrew Frampton, Steve Kipner, Danny O’Donoghue, Glen Power, Ben Sargeant, Mark Sheehan

Technically not a single as it was not released as one but it’s still gained place on the UK and Irish charts (113 and 48 respectively). It’s the first song on the band’s second album and during the Science & Faith tour the song was a powerful kick-off to the gigs. It was admittedly written as an anthem based on U2’s influence and it became an anthem on the tour.

The full lyrics:

I’ve been kicked right down
I’ve been spat in the face
I’ve been pulled, weighed down
To the lowest place
I’ve been lied to, shamed
I have been disgraced
Been ex-communicated from every holy place
I’ve been beat up and robbed
I’ve been left for dead
For the way I look
For the things I said

When trouble thinks it’s found us
The world falls down around us
I promise baby you won’t ever
You won’t ever feel a thing

[Chorus:]
Cause I will take it on the chin
Eh, for you
So lay your cuts and bruises over my skin
I promise you won’t feel a thing
Cause everything the world could throw
I’ll stand in front. I’ll take the blow for you.
For you.

I’ve been cleared on the street
I’ve been left in the cold
Had my dreams held up
Had them shot full of holes
I’ve been laughed at, burnt, beat and butt of the joke
I’ve been lit up in flames
I have gone down in smoke
I’ve been stabbed in the back
While they promised the earth
Tried to keep my head high
For all I am worth

Aside I’m double blazing
I know when war is raging
I promise baby you won’t ever
You won’t ever feel a thing

[Chorus]

Yeah.
And if I fall here
At least you know my dear that I would die for you
Promise you won’t ever feel a thing
And if I fall here
At least you know my dear that I would die for you
Promise you won’t ever feel a thing

[Chorus]

Yeah everything the world could throw
I’ll take the sticks, I’ll take the stones for you
For you

danny fighting 2010-2011

11: Before The Worst

Written by: Danny O’Donoghue, Glen Power, Mark Sheehan

Release date for the single: June 15/20 2009

The single was a top 40 song in Ireland (topped at number 37) and a top ten in Australia (at number 10) and certified platinum. In the UK it peaked at number 96 making it the worst performing single of the album which kinda breaks my heart ’cause I think it’s brilliant. Not to mention that this was the song that got them signed up.

Full lyrics:

 It’s been a while since the two of us talked
About a week since the day that you walked
Knowing things would never be the same
With your empty heart and mine full of pain
So explain to me, how it came to this
Take it back to the night we kissed
It was Dublin city on a Friday night
With vodkas and coke, I was Guinness all night

We were sitting with our backs against the world
Saying things that we thought but never heard
Oh, who would have thought it would end up like this?
Where everything we talked about is gone
And the only chance we have of moving on
Is trying to take it back before it all went wrong

Before the worst, before we met
Before our hearts decide
It’s time to love again
Before too late, before too long
Let’s try to take it back
Before it all went wrong

There was a time, that we’d stay up all night
Best friends, yeah, talking ’til the daylight
Took the joys alongside the pain
With not much to lose but so much to gain
Are you hearing me? ‘Cause I don’t wanna miss,
That you would drift on memory bliss
It was Grafton Street on a rainy night
I was down on one knee and you were mine for life

We were thinking we would never be apart
With your name tattooed across my heart
Oh, who would have thought it would end up like this?
Where everything we talked about is gone
And the only chance we have of moving on
Is trying to take it back before it all went wrong

Before the worst, before we met
Before our hearts decide
It’s time to love again
Before too late, before too long
Let’s try to take it back
Before it all went wrong

If the clouds don’t clear
Then we’ll rise above it, we’ll rise above it
Heaven’s gate is so near
Come walk with me through
Just like we used to, just like we used to

Let’s take it back
Before it all went wrong

Before the worst, before we met
Before our hearts decide
It’s time to love again
Before too late, before too long
Let’s try to take it back
Before it all went wrong

Let’s try to take it back
Before it all went wrong

danny on stage sad serious

10: Science & Faith

Written by: Danny O’Donoghue, Mark Sheehan

Single released on May 27th, 2011

The song was released as the fourth and last single of the album. It wasn’t particularly successful as a single, peaking at number 62 in the UK and not reaching top 100 in other countries, not even in Ireland. But it was an important song to the band naming the second album.

The full (very clever) lyrics:

Tried to break love to a science
In an act of pure defiance
I broke her heart.
As i pulled apart her theories
As i watched her growing weary
I pulled her apart
Having heavy conversations
About the furthest constellations of our souls. oh
We’re just trying to find some meaning
In the things that we believe in
But we got some ways to go.
Of all of the things that she’s ever said
She goes and says something that just knocks me dead.

You won’t find faith or hope down a telescope
You won’t find heart and soul in the stars
You can break everything down to chemicals
But you can’t explain a love like ours.

Ooohhhh
It’s the way we feel, yeah this is real
Ooohhhh
It’s the way we feel, yeah this is real

I tried pushing evolution
As the obvious conclusion of the start.
But it was for my own amusement
Saying love was an illusion of a hopeless heart.
Of all of the things that she’s ever said
She goes and says something that knocks me dead.

You won’t find faith or hope down a telescope
You won’t find heart and soul in the stars
You can break everything down to chemicals
But you can’t explain a love like ours.

Ooohhhh
It’s the way we feel, yeah this is real.
Ooohhhh
It’s the way we feel, yeah this is real.

Of all of the things that she’s ever said
She goes and says something that just knocks me dead

You won’t find faith or hope down a telescope
You won’t find heart and soul in the stars
You can break everything down to chemicals
But you can’t explain a love like ours.

Ooohhhh
It’s the way we feel, yeah this is real
Ooohhhh
It’s the way we feel, yeah this is real

So of the 3 above which would you choose as your one favourite? (Yes, definitely just the one, I know you love them all but which one do you love THE most? 🙂 )

3 thoughts on “Countdown of the most successful singles, #10-12

  1. Pingback: Countdown of the most successful singles, #7-9 | The Script Bible

  2. Pingback: Countdown of the most successful singles, #4-6 | The Script Bible

  3. Pingback: Countdown of the most successful singles: the top 3! | The Script Bible

Share your thoughts

