Countdown of the most successful singles, #7-9

Continuing the countdown of the most successful 12 singles. Today’s 7 to 9.

As Billboard announced that its official hot 100 charts will take youtube and spotify plays into account, May is about the countdowns of The Script’s most popular songs according to these media. I’ll share the top youtube videos on Mondays, charted singles on Thursdays and most popular Spotify tracks on Saturdays. Make sure you click play and stay tuned!

12: You Won’t Feel A Thing
11: Before The Worst
10: Science & Faith
Read the post with some background and lyrics of the songs above.

9: Talk You Down

Written by: Danny O’Donoghue, Mark Sheehan

Single released: March 2009

The single was successful in Ireland, getting to top 20 (peaking at number 19) but failed to get the same response anywhere else. In the UK it reached number 47 but the rest of the charts didn’t take notice of it.

The full lyrics:

I can feel the colour running
As it’s fading from my face
Try to speak but nothing’s coming
Nothing I could say to make you stay

Grabbed your suitcase, called a taxi
It’s 3 AM, now where you gonna go?
Gonna stay with friends in London
And that’s all I get to know

Just a cigarette gone
No, you couldn’t’ be that far
I’m driving my car to where I hope you are
Maybe I can talk you down
Maybe I can talk you down

Oh, we’re standing on a tiny ledge
Before this goes over the edge
Gonna use my heart and not my head
And try to open up your eyes
This is relationship suicide

‘Cause if you go, I go.
‘Cause if you go, I go.

Taking shortcuts through the alleys
While you’re racing through my mind
Cops can chase but they won’t catch me
Not before I get to speak my mind
If there’s still time

talk you down by melinda

Edit by Melinda, The Script Quotes

Just a cigarette gone
No, you couldn’t be that far
I’m driving my car to where I hope you are
Maybe I can talk you down
Maybe I can talk you down

Oh, we’re standing on a tiny ledge
Before this goes over the edge
Gonna use my heart and not my head
And try to open up your eyes
This is relationship suicide

‘Cause if you go, I go.
‘Cause if you go, I go.
‘Cause if you go, I go.
‘Cause if you go, I go.

We’re standing on a tiny ledge
Before this goes over the edge
Gonna use my heart and not my head, oh.
We’re standing on a tiny ledge
Before this goes over the edge
Gonna use my heart and not my head.

Just a cigarette gone
No, you couldn’t be that far
I’m driving my car to where I hope you are
Maybe I can talk you down
Maybe I can talk you down

talk you down by melinda 2

Edit by Melinda, The Script Quotes

Oh, we’re standing on a tiny ledge
Before this goes over the edge
Gonna use my heart and not my head
And try to open up your eyes
This is relationship suicide

‘Cause if you go, I go.
‘Cause if you go, I go.
‘Cause if you go, I go.
‘Cause if you go, I go.

8: The Man Who Can’t Be Moved

Written by: Andrew Frampton, Steve Kipner, Danny O’Donoghue, Mark Sheehan

Arranged By [Strings] – Daniel O’Donoghue

Composed By [Strings] – Steve Hussy

Release date for the single: July 25 2008

It was the second top 10 single for the band in Ireland peaking even higher than ‘We Cry’, this single reached number 2. It did similarly well in the UK peaking at the same position, number 2, and getting certified platinum.. In the US it managed to climb into the top 100, reaching number 86 and getting certified platinum with the US standards as well. The certification was reached in Australia, too, and the single peaked at number 44 there.

The song describes the desperate actions of a heartbroken man who would do anything to get his lost love back. He vows to wait for her at the corner where they first met until she finds him again. Danny said that “It’s the first song I thought we had something special.”

The full lyrics:

Going back to the corner where I first saw you
Gonna camp in my sleeping bag I’m not gonna move
Got some words on cardboard, got your picture in my hand
Saying, “If you see this girl can you tell her where I am?”

Some try to hand me money, they don’t understand
I’m not broke – I’m just a broken-hearted man
I know it makes no sense but what else can I do?
How can I move on when I’m still in love with you?

[Chorus:]
‘Cause if one day you wake up and find that you’re missing me
And your heart starts to wonder where on this earth I could be
Thinking maybe you’ll come back here to the place that we’d meet
And you’ll see me waiting for you on the corner of the street

So I’m not moving, I’m not moving

Edit by thescript_arra

Edit by thescript_arra

Policeman says, “Son, you can’t stay here.”
I said, “There’s someone I’m waiting for if it’s a day, a month, a year.
Gotta stand my ground even if it rains or snows.
If she changes her mind this is the first place she will go.”

[Chorus]

So I’m not moving, I’m not moving,
I’m not moving, I’m not moving

People talk about the guy that’s waiting on a girl
There are no holes in his shoes but a big hole in his world

And maybe I’ll get famous as the man who can’t be moved
Maybe you won’t mean to but you’ll see me on the news
And you’ll come running to the corner
‘Cause you’ll know it’s just for you
I’m the man who can’t be moved
I’m the man who can’t be moved

[Chorus 2x]

Going back to the corner where I first saw you
Gonna camp in my sleeping bag, I’m not gonna move

 

7: Nothing

Written by: Andrew Frampton, Steve Kipner, Danny O’Donoghue, Mark Sheehan

Release date for the single: November 19 or 21, 2010

A concert favourite, this single didn’t reach the popularity on the Irish Charts that ‘For The First Time’ or any first three singles did. It peaked number 15 on the Irish Charts, number 42 in the UK and number 50 in Australia but climbed as high as number 32 in the US.

As Mark tends to point out at their concerts, the song is about Danny’s drunk-dialling problem: “He doesn’t have a drinking problem, he has a drunk-dialling problem”

The full lyrics:

Am I better off dead?
Am I better off a quitter?
They say I’m better off now
Than I ever was with her
As they take me to my local down the street
I’m smiling but I’m dying trying not to drag my feet

They say a few drinks will help me to forget her
But after one too many I know that I’ll never
Only they can’t see where this is gonna end
They all think I’m crazy but to me it’s perfect sense

And my mates are all there trying to calm me down
‘Cause I’m shouting your name all over town
I’m swearing if I go there now
I can change her mind, turn it all around

Edit by  by scriptetteshie

Edit by by scriptetteshie

And I know that I’m drunk but I’ll say the words
And she’ll listen this time even though they’re slurred
So I, dialed her number and confessed to her
I’m still in love but all I heard
Was nothing (nothing, nothing, nothing)

So I stumble there, along the railings and the fences
I know if we’re face to face then she’ll come to her senses
Every drunk step I take leads me to her door
If she sees how much I’m hurting, she’ll take me back for sure

And my mates are all there trying to calm me down
‘Cause I’m shouting your name all over town
I’m swearing if I go there now
I can change her mind, turn it all around

And I know that I’m drunk but I’ll say the words
And she’ll listen this time even though they’re slurred
So I, dialed her number and confessed to her
I’m still in love but all I heard
Was nothing (nothing, nothing)

She said nothing (nothing, nothing)
Oh, I wanted words but all I heard was nothing
Oh, I got nothing (nothing, nothing)
I got nothing (nothing, nothing)
Oh, I wanted words but all I heard was nothing

Ohh, sometimes love’s intoxicating
Ohh, you’re coming down, your hands are shaking
When you realize there’s no one waiting

Am I better off dead?
Am I better off a quitter?
They say I’m better off now
Than I ever was with her

And my mates are all there trying to calm me down
‘Cause I’m shouting your name all over town
I’m swearing if I go there now
I can change her mind, turn it all around

And I know that I’m drunk but I’ll say the words
And she’ll listen this time even though they’re slurred
So I, dialed her number and confessed to her
I’m still in love but all I heard
Was nothing (nothing, nothing)

Edit by scriptloveph

Edit by scriptloveph

She said nothing (nothing, nothing)
Oh, I wanted words but all I heard was nothing
Oh, I got nothing (nothing, nothing)
I got nothing (nothing, nothing)
Oh, I wanted words but all I heard was nothing
Oh, I got nothing (nothing, nothing, nothing)

I got nothing [x3]

This is what the official charts say but now it’s your turn: which of the three above do you prefer?

2 thoughts on “Countdown of the most successful singles, #7-9

  1. Pingback: Countdown of the most successful singles, #4-6 | The Script Bible

  2. Pingback: Countdown of the most successful singles: the top 3! | The Script Bible

Share your thoughts

