Countdown of the most successful singles, #4-6

Continuing the countdown of the most successful 12 singles with 3 songs.

As Billboard announced that its official hot 100 charts will take youtube and spotify plays into account, May is about the countdowns of The Script’s most popular songs according to these media. I’ll share the top youtube videos on Mondays, charted singles on Thursdays and most popular Spotify tracks on Saturdays. Make sure you click play and stay tuned!

12: You Won’t Feel A Thing
11: Before The Worst
10: Science & Faith
9: Talk You Down
8: The Man Who Can’t Be Moved
7: Nothing
Read the post with some background and lyrics of songs 12-10 and another with songs 7-9 here.

6: Six Degrees of Separation

Written by: Andrew Frampton, Steve Kipner, Danny O’Donoghue, Mark Sheehan

Released: 2012 November 

The song was recorded at Sphere Studios in London and was produced by Danny and Mark, along with fellow Irish producer Jimbo Barry.

It peaked at nr 25 on the Irish Charts, 32 in the UK but didn’t get to top 100 in the US.

“What I’m trying to say in that song is that there really should be a 12-step type group for people coming out of a serious relationship. There are so many feelings and emotions you have to deal with.” (Mark)

You’ve read the books,
You’ve watched the shows,
What’s the best way no one knows, yeah,
Meditate, get hypnotized.
Anything to take from your mind.
But it won’t go,
You’re doing all these things out of desperation,
You’re going through six degrees of separation.

You hit the drink, you take a toke
Watch the past go up in smoke, yeah

SDOS fake a smile

Fake a smile, yeah, lie and say that,
You’re better now than ever, and your life’s okay
When it’s not. No.
You’re doing all these things out of desperation,
You’re going through six degrees of separation.

First, you think the worst is a broken heart
What’s gonna kill you is the second part
And the third, Is when your world splits down the middle
And fourth, you’re gonna think that you fixed yourself
Fifth, you see them out with someone else
And the sixth, is when you admit you may have fucked up a little

SDOS chorus

Oh no there ain’t no help, it’s every man for himself
No no there ain’t no help, it’s every man for himself

You tell your friends, yeah, strangers too,
Anyone who’ll throw an arm around you, yeah
Tarot cards
Gems and stones,
Believing all that shit is gonna heal your soul.
Well it’s not, no,

You’re only doing things out of desperation,
Oh no,
You’re goin’ through six degrees of separation.

First, you think the worst is a broken heart
What’s gonna kill you is the second part
And the third, Is when your world splits down the middle
And fourth, you’re gonna think that you fixed yourself
Fifth, you see them out with someone else
And the sixth, is when you admit you may have fucked up a little

SDOS pictograms

No there’s no starting over,
Without finding closure, you’d take them back,
No hesitation,
That’s when you know you’ve reached the sixth degree of separation

Oh, no there’s no starting over,
Without finding closure, you’d take them back,
No hesitation,
That’s when you know you’ve reached the sixth degree of separation

First, you think the worst is a broken heart
What’s gonna kill you is the second part
And the third, Is when your world splits down the middle
And fourth, you’re gonna think that you fixed yourself
Fifth, you see them out with someone else
And the sixth, is when you admit you may have fucked up a little

No, no, there ain’t no help
It’s every man for himself
You’re goin’ through six degrees of separation

No, no, there ain’t no help
It’s every man for himself
You’re goin’ through six degrees of separation

No, no, there ain’t no help
It’s every man for himself

5: If You Could See Me Now

Written by: Andrew Frampton, Steve Kipner, Danny O’Donoghue, Mark Sheehan

Single released: 2013 February-March

The single peaked at nr 13 on the Irish and nr 20 on the UK charts. It was not charted in the US.

As it’s a very personal song Danny said that “there was every chance that it wasn’t going to make the album – just because of how personal it was. It was a really close one to our hearts.” Thankfully it did.

“When we share it with the audience it feels like a problem shared is a problem halved. If you can identify with the song you won’t feel alone any more. It’s a very moving thing.” (Glen)

“Everything that hurts us we put on paper anyway, so the things that hurt the most are the things we most care about. That’s why we put it on the album.” (Danny)

It was February 14 Valentine’s Day
The roses came but they took you away
Tattooed on my arm is a charm to disarm all the harm
Gotta keep myself calm but the truth is you’re gone
And I’ll never get to show you these songs
Dad you should see the tours that I’m on
I see you standing there next to Mom
Both singing along, yeah arm in arm

iycsmn tattood on my arm bt TSB

And there are days when I’m losing my faith
Because the man wasn’t good he was great
He’d say “Music was the home for your pain”
And explained I was young, he would say
Take that rage, put it on a page
Take the page to the stage
Blow the roof off the place
I’m trying to make you proud
Do everything you did
I hope you’re up there with God saying “That’s my kid!”

[Chorus:]
I still look for your face in the crowd
Oh if you could see me now (Oh if you could see me now)
Would you stand in disgrace or take a bow
Oh if you could see me now (Oh if you could see me now)

Edit by thescriptjunior

Edit by thescriptjunior

(Oh if you could see me now)

If you could see me now would you recognize me?
Would you pat me on the back or would you criticize me?
Would you follow every line on my tear-stained face
Put your hand on a heart that was cold
As the day you were taken away?
I know it’s been a while but I can see you clear as day
Right now, I wish I could hear you say
I drink too much, and I smoke too much dutch
But if you can’t see me now that shit’s a must
You used to say I won’t know a wind until it crossed me
Like I won’t know real love ’til I’ve loved and I’ve lost it
So if you’ve lost a sister, someone’s lost a mom
And if you’ve lost a dad then someone’s lost a son
And they’re all missing out, yeah they’re all missing out
So if you get a second to look down on me now
Mom, Dad I’m just missing you now

Edit by Melinda, The Script Quotes

Edit by Melinda, The Script Quotes

I still look for your face in the crowd
Oh if you could see me now (Oh if you could see me now)
Would you stand in disgrace or take a bow
Oh if you could see me now (Oh if you could see me now)

Oh, oh
Would you call me a saint or a sinner?
Would you love me a loser or winner?
Oh, oh
When I see my face in the mirror
We look so alike that it makes me shiver

Original photo by Peter Neill, Shoot The Sound

Original photo by Peter Neill, Shoot The Sound

I still look for your face in the crowd
Oh if you could see me now (Oh if you could see me now)
Would you stand in disgrace or take a bow
Oh if you could see me now (Oh if you could see me now)
Yeah I’m just missing you now

I still look for your face in the crowd
Oh if you could see me now (Oh if you could see me now)
Would you stand in disgrace or take a bow
Oh if you could see me now (Oh if you could see me now)

If you could see, you could see me now

4: Breakeven

Written by: Andrew Frampton, Steve Kipner, Danny O’Donoghue, Mark Sheehan

Release date for the single: 2008 November

The third single of their album also became the third top ten single in Ireland, peaking at number 10. It’s their most successful song in the US that reached number 12 after two years. It’s the highest charted The Script single in Australia as well peaking at number 3. The song was slightly less successful in the UK but still managed to get to the top 40, peaking at number 21.

“It’s not saying anything different to any other artists out there but how we say things – we talk about the same emotion but we actually, lyrically say it, I think is quite unique.” (Mark)

I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayin’ to a God I don’t believe in
‘Cause I got time while she got freedom
‘Cause when a heart breaks, no, it don’t break even

Her best days will be some of my worst
She finally met a man that’s gonna put her first
While I’m wide awake she’s no trouble sleeping
‘Cause when a heart breaks no it don’t break even… even… no

Edit by TheScript_Shain

Edit by TheScript_Shain

What am I supposed to do when the best part of me was always you?
And what am I supposed to say when I’m all choked up and you’re OK?
I’m falling to pieces, yeah,
I’m falling to pieces

They say bad things happen for a reason
But no wise words gonna stop the bleeding
‘Cause she’s moved on while I’m still grieving
And when a heart breaks no it don’t break even, even… no

What am I gonna do when the best part of me was always you?
And what am I supposed to say when I’m all choked up and you’re OK?
I’m falling to pieces, yeah,
I’m falling to pieces, yeah,
I’m falling to pieces
(One still in love while the other one’s leaving)
I’m falling to pieces
(‘Cause when a heart breaks no it don’t break even)

Edit by bethany (badluckglen)

Edit by bethany (badluckglen)

Oh, you got his heart and my heart and none of the pain
You took your suitcase, I took the blame.
Now I’m tryin’ make sense of what little remains, ooh
‘Cause you left me with no love and honour to my name.

I’m still alive but I’m barely breathing
Just prayin’ to a God that I don’t believe in
‘Cause I got time while she got freedom
‘Cause when a heart breaks, no, it don’t break…
No, it don’t break
No, it don’t break even, no

What am I gonna do when the best part of me was always you?
And what am I supposed to say when I’m all choked up and you’re OK?
(Oh glad you’re okay now)
I’m falling to pieces, yeah
I’m falling to pieces, yeah
(Oh I’m falling, falling)
I’m falling to pieces,
(One still in love while the other one’s leaving)

Edit by The Script Quotes

Edit by The Script Quotes

I’m falling to pieces
(‘Cause when a heart breaks, no, it don’t break even)

Oh, it don’t break even no
Oh, it don’t break even no
Oh, it don’t break even no

This is what the official charts say but now it’s your turn: which of the three above do you prefer?

One thought on “Countdown of the most successful singles, #4-6

  1. Pingback: Countdown of the most successful singles: the top 3! | The Script Bible

Share your thoughts

