Special #TheScriptChallenge: Howl At The Moon

You may or may not have heard that November has its own challenge in certain literary circles: National Novel Writing Month aka NaNoWriMo challenges writers to write a novel, to put 50,000 words onto the screen in 30 days. To honour everyone who even attempts to fulfill this dream, this week’s challenge is going to be special.

You’ve been doing pretty amazing creating beautiful edits week by week in #TheScriptChallenge. This week, I’d like to challenge you to step outside of your comfort zone and use words instead of images.

There, I’ve said it: words.

l know some (most?) of you are not native speakers. I’m not either. But it really doesn’t matter, nobody will grade your grammar or vocabulary. l think we know each other enough now that you know, you can trust the people in the challenge. l hope you will.

To make it easier, you can choose any line from Howl At The Moon. My suggestion would be “I had the dream but couldn’t find the key” because it would allow you to speak about all the things you wanted to do but haven’t done yet. All the things you’ve done for others even though you really wanted to do something else.

I’d love to hear the success stories, when you got around doing what you like despite any detours. Or when you started on the right path.

You choose the length, the format and the platform. And if you don’t like the line above, here, choose another:

The lyrics

“Howl At The Moon”

When I was younger
I’d pray for thunder
A thousand angels banging on their chairs
The white of all the lightning was never that frightening
Like cameras all flashing in the air

And oh, after it would clear
The wonders of the universe they seem so near

Lying in my backyard
Head is facing skyward
I’d imagine all the things that I could be
A pilot or a fighter
An astronaut or writer
Anything except just being me

And oh, the bells would start to ring
Words came to my head and I would start to sing

With the moon as the spotlight
That shines on me
And the stars were the lighters in the air
And the wind screaming loud sounded just like a crowd
And I swore I was already there
I’d howl at the moon
I’d howl at the moon

Now that I’m older
And life’s a little colder
You’re told you need to let go of your dreams
Everything changes
They stare at blank pages
I had the dream but couldn’t find the key

But oh, some nights I hear the strings
These melodies in my head I have to sing

With the moon as the spotlight
That shines on me
And the stars were the lighters in the air
And the wind screaming loud sounded just like a crowd
And I swore I was already there

I’d howl at the moon
I’d howl at the moon
I’d howl at the moon
I’d howl at the moon

It keeps getting louder
It keeps getting louder
It keeps getting louder
It keeps getting louder
It keeps getting louder
It keeps getting louder

With the moon as the spotlight
That shines on me
And the stars were the lighters in the air
And the wind screaming loud sounded just like a crowd
And I swore I was already there

I’d howl at the moon

The challenge

Choose a line (or use my suggestion, “I had the dream but couldn’t find the key”) and get writing.

It can be a poem, a fictional story or something from your own life, it’s up to you. You choose the length, the format, the platform.It can be one tweet or longer, all is welcomed warmly.

I know it’s gonna be a big jump for many of you but I hope you’ll rise to the challenge! Looking forward to seeing them!

Love,

Andrea

Share your thoughts

